45 rpm: “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall” – Coldplay

If you know me, you know I am not a fan of Coldplay and their brand of white wine/dinner party rock. I do not like Chris Martin’s “rock star” posturing and the fact that he’s married to Gwyneth Paltrow (who cannot cease to annoy me). So this is just an excuse to harp on them, really. This new single, “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall,” (which, as a friend and colleague pointed out, is a punchline in itself) from their forthcoming album sounds as though they’re continuing down the path of 2008’s Viva la Vida. Sounding like some amalgam of Joshua Tree-era U2 and Dream Acadamy’s “Life in a Northern Town,” the video for “Every Teardrop” has an appropriately 80s feel to it, intentional or not. The funny thing is, despite its calculated nostalgic sound and overwrought, goofy, cheeseball lyrics (“I’d rather be a comma than a full stop!”), it doesn’t sound half bad. Actually, it probably would sound pretty good on the radio in 1988 sandwiched between “Life in a Northern Town” and “Where the Streets Have No Name.” Alas, this is not 1988 and I do not listen to the radio, so I’ll probably forget about “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall” and put some U2 and Dream Academy on my iPod.

About James Hrivnak
Child of commerce! Bastard of art!

One Response to 45 rpm: “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall” – Coldplay

  1. Anders says:

    My initial reaction to this song was not good. I still don’t love it, but you’re right that it’s a radio friendly hit. Plus, I favour good 80s sounding tracks.

    The truth is that I *like* Coldplay. “Yellow” was the hot shit in 2000 when I started university. I still think PARACHUTES is a great album, and not so much “white wine/dinner party rock” (two things I like a great deal) but more of the next evolution in Brit Pop (I’m a big fan of mid-nineties Oasis and Blur as well) with a touch of Radiohead circa THE BENDS.

    In Jan. 2006 I went to see them in Vancouver and they put on a great show. I think VIVA LA VIDA is probably their second best album after the first (and the PROSPEKT’S MARCH EP is even better). So, I’m a bit invested in Coldplay, I guess.

    But somehow this time around, it’s not really getting me. I’m not sure if it’s them or me. No hard feelings, Coldplay, but we’ve drifted apart. I’ll probably still grab the new album, but I don’t have the thrill I did when I listened to RUSH OF BLOOD TO THE HEAD.

    P.S. James, what do you think about Chris Martin’s performance on EXTRAS? Does it not put to lie the idea that he actually thinks he’s an important “rock star”? If you haven’t seen it, it’s brilliant.

Leave a Reply

